top of page
Search

Heavy Snow in Tokyo

On February 5, 2024, Tokyo was hit with a rare heavy snowfall, covering the city in 9 centimeters of snow. This was the first significant snowfall (with at least 1 centimeters of snow) since February 2022 and marked the first heavy snow warning for Tokyo's 23 wards in about a year.


The sudden snowfall was unexpected, especially considering Tokyo had seen very little snow this winter due to global warming. Prior to this event, there had only been one light snowfall recorded on January 13, 2024 so February would be the second time. Typically, any snow in Tokyo would not accumulate or quickly melt away.


Reports from the Tokyo Fire Department indicated that at least 120 individuals ranging in age from 4 to 92 were injured and taken to hospitals in Tokyo between February 5 and 11:00 a.m. on February 6 due to slips on the snow. Fortunately, all snow-related injuries that were reported were not life-threatening. On February 5 by 1pm, both All Nippon Airways Co. and Japan Airlines Co. had canceled 34 and 55 flights, respectively, to and from Tokyo’s Haneda Airport, impacting approximately 10,530 passengers.


As I was getting ready to head to the convenience store from my dormitory located in Yokohama, I had to change my plans due to the snow piling up outside. It was the first time I saw it as shown in the picture below.


Prior to coming to Japan for my study abroad program, I had heard about the four distinct seasons in the country and was excited to experience them, having lived in snowless Hawaii for most of my life. However, I realized that if I truly wanted to experience winter, I would need to venture further north to regions like Hokkaido, Tohoku, and Hokuriku, places I hope to visit one day.









16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page