top of page
Search

2024 New Year’s Update

Happy New Year! On New Year’s Day, I decided to visit the Tokyo Skytree. Little did I know while I was there, a powerful 7.6 magnitude earthquake struck central Japan, which signified a challenging start to 2024 for the country. It was the strongest earthquake observed in Japan since 2018. I however did not feel the earthquake shaking as Tokyo wasn’t too close to the epicenter in Ishikawa Prefecture. However, reports came in that some residents in the Kanto region also felt the tremors. 


I later went to Sensoji, also known as Asakusa Kannon Temple, to participate in Hatsumode. This traditional visit to a shrine or temple on New Year's Day is an important ritual for many Japanese people as they express gratitude for the past year and make wishes for the year ahead. Despite the long lines at Sensoji, I managed to avoid the crowds and explore the temple grounds. I even purchased an omikuji, a written oracle that provides insights and predictions for the coming year in various areas such as money and social life. I got the chu-kichi rank, the second-highest blessing after dai-kichi.


Unfortunately, the following day brought more challenges as a tragic plane collision occurred at Haneda Airport. Japan Airlines flight JAL516 collided with a Coast Guard plane on the runway, igniting fires that resulted in the destruction of both aircraft. The Coast Guard plane was en route to provide relief efforts for the 2024 Noto earthquake that had struck the day before. This incident marked Japan Airlines' first major accident and hull loss since the infamous Flight 123 in 1985, further adding to the rough start of Japan in 2024.


As I reflect on these events, I am reminded of the resilience and strength of the Japanese people in the face of adversity such as earthquakes which are extremely common. Despite the challenges that the new year has brought so far, I am grateful for the opportunity to experience the rich culture and traditions of Japan during this time. Here's to hoping for brighter days ahead in 2024.




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page